Branches of Jyotish

The source of Jyotish knowledge comes from the Creator, from the divine.

Jyotish is primarily spiritual astrology, which explains the natural patterns of our consciousness, which are also the same as the natural patterns of our universe.


Branches of Jyotish

  1. Hora – interpretations and consultations based on kundali (natal chart)
  2. Ganit– mathematical calculations
  3. Samhita– astronomy, and astrology related to the whole Earth

Types of Jyotish

  1. Parashara Jyotish– source is Brihad Parashara Hora Shastra. This is the most commonly used type of Jyotish.
  2. Jaimini Jyotish – is based on Jaimini’s sutras, records of the great Vedic Rishi (Sage). It is often used as a complement to Parahara Jyotish. The most important features are Chara Karak, Rashi dasha system and aspects of the planet, which are interpreted in terms of signs.
  3. Tajika Jyotish– best known for Varshpal (Solar Return Technique) or “Annual Horoscope”. It is believed that this type of Jyotisha has actually transformed from Arabic astrology in Indian fashion. Some Jyotishi uses it as a complement to Parashara Jyotish.
  4. Nadi Jyotish– is the knowledge that is strictly kept within the closed (non-public) tradition in India. It is about the records of millions of natal charts for future generations that are yet to be born.
  5. Tantric Jyotish– is an intuitive approach, which involves paying attention to omens, observing and analyzing the breathing at the time of asking a question and interpreting the answer, and the interpretation of visions and messages received from “spiritual beings”.


Hora is mostly used in individual counseling. Consists of:

  • Jataka – position of planets in the sky at the time of birth (natal chart)
  • Muhurta – choice of a favorable moment to start yagya or some activity
  • Prašna – position of planets at the time of asking questions
  • Nimita – interpretation of omens and messages received from the environment, related to Jataka

© Conny Petö Đeneš 2006-2023 | Created With <3